Revelation 1:10-13, A Loud Voice


Insights into things in Heaven and on earth…

nightlightblogdotcom

I was in the Spirit on the Lord’s Day, and I heard behind me a loud voice, as of a trumpet, saying, “I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last,” and “What you see, write in a book and send it to the seven churches which are in Asia:  to Ephesus, to Smyrna, to Pergamos, to Thyatira, to Sardis, to Philadelphia, and to Laodicea,”
Then I turned to see the voice that spoke with me.  And having turned, I saw seven golden lampstands, and in the midst of the seven lampstands, One like the Son of Man, clothed with a garment down to the feet and girded about the chest with a golden band. (NKJV)

John might have been in exile, but he wasn’t alone.  Other than that he was a prisoner, we don’t know anything about his situation on that island, except that it was Sunday…

View original post 502 more words

24 thoughts on “Revelation 1:10-13, A Loud Voice

  1. So true! And when I tell people the things that are going on now were predicted by God Himself and tell them where in the Bible it has been said that things would happen I have gotten scoffed at. One of the first comments I get is “there has always been crime but technology has gotten so large that we can now hear about everything”… (JAW DROP…hear a needle fall…) walk away…
    Then I am reminded that “once upon a time” I was a lost sheep that didn’t know My Saviour’s voice…

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, Sis, we do.
        I am sorry this is a bit long! Wanted to share!
        We were preparing to load our van for our grand daughter’s 3rd birthday party this past Saturday. We live up a long lane and I saw a vehicle sitting at the end of it. I waited as sometimes people back up and turn around. The vehicle started up the lane. By the time I took my last crock pot out the vehicle was parked some what behind me and the gentlemen (nicely dressed) got out of the car. I greeted him kindly and he said looks like you are leaving I said yes, for a birthday party. He said well let me leave this literature with you. I KNEW immediately when he said that what literature it was. I touched his arm kindly (KNOWING I WAS BEING LED BY GOD’S HOLY SPIRIT) I said sir are you a Jehovah’s witness? He said yes I said “I am a believer in Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour. I believe there is a hell. There is no way you are going to convince me any different.” I said “I am asking you with all the love in my heart that you seek God’s Truth for yourself. You need to repent of the false gospel you are spreading.” The whole time I felt a bit of pity and love for that man. He backed away and said “okay”. PRAYING a seed fell on FERTILE GROUND!
        THANKFUL TO OUR MIGHTY GOD FOR HIS GUIDANCE THROUGH HIS HOLY SPIRIT!! He gave me the Words to say I know- because I didn’t stutter or stammer…and I was shaking when it was all over.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I also remember the days that your friend mentions here, Maria. Things have changed so much in my lifetime that I hardly recognize this as the some country where I grew up. More distraction, more noise, more sin; I can’t think of any area where we (the U.S.) are any better than we were 40 years ago except for maybe the ability to extend life. Yes, we can communicate on a moment’s notice and that comes in handy and sometimes helps in emergencies. I wonder what the ratio of “number of problems created”/”emergencies with quicker response that made a difference” is when it comes to our social media devises. Probably the latter.
    In any case, “Jesus was coming soon” after he went back into heaven two thousand years ago, according to God’s timetable. That means he is much closer to coming back in our day. We cannot set a time but we can look for signs mentioned in Matthew 24 and elsewhere. We are asked to “watch.” So, that’s what I do and I wish the best for the next generation but I am very concerned for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good post, with the exception that John no doubt wasn’t in the spirit on a Sunday, since Sunday was a Catholic invention.

    In any case, the world, as well as religion, always seeks to want to put man in a prison, captivity, slavery or bondage of one sort or another. The human spirit of men yearn for freedom, yet they usually end up in some sort of imprisonment of their own making, (via deception), or at least allow someone else to put them there.

    “So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31-32

    Liked by 1 person

    • Scarlett and Elizabeth, meeting on the first day of the week is Biblical, though the Catholic church claims they instituted this. If John had meant the sabbath he would have said this. Clarence simply said Sunday instead of the Lord’s day.which is the first day.

      Like

      • Yes, of course Maria. Obviously, early believers such as John were departing from the Law and Sabbatical observance. Therefore, the distinction. The issue with me goes not that “Sunday” came generally into use and being as the “Lords Day”, or day to worship by early Christians, but the origin of the word “Sunday” itself, which I believe was from Pagan/ therefore “Catholic” sources, ie; Constantine. I’m not sure if the point is moot, but I felt this could have been better clarified by the writer.

        Liked by 1 person

          • You’re welcome Maria. I guess we could go miles deep on some of these discussions, and that would be OK for scholarly types, but for those like me…well, it has to be simple so I can understand it. Anyway,you know how I am about anything “Catholic”. There is a nice, very Catholic lady who had “innocently” visited my blog recently, God bless her soul…and I think she bailed out after a few visits when she ran across some of my more, shall we say, adamant posts, on Catholicism. I don’t hold this against her, or for being Catholic, but I do so wish, and pray, they could/would get the blinders off and be set free. As I know you do as well.
            Blessings,
            Scarlett

            Liked by 2 people

            • Scarlett, no need to get scholarly – right, but I believe the comment thread helped clear this issue up for me – to see where you and Elizabeth were coming from and how what we each know can help one another.

              Just a thought on blinders. I truly believe that the Lord is exposing the filth and errors of this institution so that people will walk away and not participate with her sins and so receive her plagues. Exposing the RCC has been a centuries long process and now that communication is so fast it seems to be zooming toward total exposure and the hatred of the world and avoidance by the Lord’s children. This institution is probably going to lash out in the end but will be destroyed by the power of God by His Holy Spirit through His Word which never returns to Him without accomplishing what He intends it to.

              Liked by 1 person

            • As a former practicer of Catholicism I know the pain and discouragement of watching friends and family continue in this “practice”…this institution…and turn their noses up at me treating me as though I am high and mighty. PERSECUTION. What a privilege it is ❤
              Galatians 4:16 runs through my head when I am dealing with this.
              It is extremely sad to see people that have formerly KNOWN and been taught the lie of this system now embrace it and are beguiled by "her" ! Makes it difficult but NOT impossible for those that have come out of her to witness because of those that did not build there house on a SOLID FOUNDATION-Jesus.
              I find myself being led not to EVER even enter their building. One step in, I believe, makes them think that I agree with them. I love them and pity them. I won't join them. Under any circumstances.

              Liked by 2 people

Please share your thoughts!

