Poster Girls for this world – Mother Teresa of Calcutta


.

File:President Reagan presents Mother Teresa with the Medal of Freedom 1985.jpg

President Reagan presents Mother Teresa with the Medal of Freedom at a White House Ceremony, 20 June 1985. (Wiki)

.

There are many places you can go to learn the facts of Teresa’s extraordinary life, from very different points of view. (Take the links below to recommended articles.) I’d like to use the time I have with you to share thoughts and feelings about her.

Teresa is a poster girl for the human ideals of humanitarianism and universalism. These are ‘isms’ that our world in its self-righteousness promotes and rewards. All kinds of people admire her and, because of her canonization on September 4, many Catholics can now feel justified in offering her a kind of worship by praying to her to intercede for them.

But while they may think that her comments about the Lord welcoming everyone – no matter what they believe – reflect the view of a loving and tolerant soul, her attitude and actions were sinful.  The order of sisters which she founded don’t attempt to convert those in their care but direct them to seek their own gods, whichever gods they are. To withhold the knowledge of God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ from anyone, especially the ill and dying, is very wrong. Obviously they don’t know Him or they couldn’t do this. But that was Teresa’s deliberate way. 

Her life is sad – she endured a lot of suffering because of her delusions. Like many mystics, she experienced a “dark night of the soul” – a sense of total abandonment by the Lord. I deeply pity her. 

“The experience of this dark night has been referenced by Christian mystics. Catholic mystic Saint John of the Cross is often cited as the source of this idea. Roman Catholics consider this a crisis on a journey toward union with God. One source says that Mother Teresa’s entire life was a such a ‘dark night.’ A Catholic web site describes her life as such.” 

Oswald Chambers: Personal Piety Combined With Flawed Theology

Bob DeWaay

A Pulitzer Prize, a Medal of Freedom, and canonization, bring temporary glory that can condemn.

Though my life is hidden – insignificant to the world, I wouldn’t change places with her because that would mean I couldn’t know the Saviour. To not know Jesus is unutterable loss.

Teresa believed we go to Jesus through His mother – the godly Jewish woman whom He saved from sin, a woman who spoke of His salvation which she gloried in. The Lord will not share His glory with anyone else, for who is worthy of the glory that belongs to Him?

She adored the consecrated bread, the host – this was her Jesus.

.

Matthew 16

26 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?

Romans 1

25 who exchanged the truth of God for the lie, and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever. Amen.

 1 John 2

21 I have not written to you because you do not know the truth, but because you know it, and that no lie is of the truth.

22 Who is a liar but he who denies that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist who denies the Father and the Son. 23 Whoever denies the Son does not have the Father either; he who acknowledges the Son has the Father also.

Isaiah 48

10 Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver;
I have tested you in the furnace of affliction.
11 For My own sake, for My own sake, I will do it;
For how should My name be profaned?
And I will not give My glory to another.
12 “Listen to Me, O Jacob,
And Israel, My called:
I am He, I am the First,
I am also the Last.

.

Resources – updated

The Vatican prepares to declare Mother Teresa a “saint” – Tom, excatholic4christ

The Myth Of Mother Teresa – Tim Challies

Some hard truths about Mother Teresa – Elizabeth Prata

Mother Teresa—A Lost Soul? – Richard Bennett

 

39 thoughts on “Poster Girls for this world – Mother Teresa of Calcutta

  1. Most timely. Well balanced and thoughtful article. I have a question; When a Saint is Canonised does that mean that he or she is instantly released from purgatory or does the Church teach that because she lived the life of a Saint he or she never was in Purgatory?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Food for the Soul, I’m happy to see you here!

      You are asking a good question. I went to the Catholic Catechism and read their declaration on purgatory. There was nothing in it that answered the question of whether saints must spend time in purgatory to prepare them – purify them – before they can enter Heaven. But I remembered that the RCC teaches “supererogation” – that is, as it relates to RCC doctrine, that some people go beyond mere obedience to do the extraordinary, and so there is a treasury of merit others can draw from. That being the case, logically, I can’t see that saints would have to be purified by purgatory before they are able to enter Heaven (according to Catholic teaching).

      What I’ll do is read the Catholic Encyclopedia on Purgatory and supererogation. Thanks for making me do some homework!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know Christ is gracious, merciful and long suffering, but He will not violate His Word. How can you be a mystic….and not touch Christ in the Spirit and continue to walk in deception? Oh how clever Satan is. How many souls have been doomed by these Catholic lies? My friend who I and my son are helping care for has terminal cancer won’t hear anything else. She just keeps burning those candles.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Scarlett, do you think this is because lies can be more tangible than the truth – that is, burning candles versus walking by faith? The natural man does this stuff thinking that it pleases the Lord – it is rebellion against faith, I believe.

      I’m glad she has you and your son to help her out. May our prayer be that the Lord brings His Word to her and draws her to Jesus!

      Thanks, Scarlett – I know that she is an ongoing prayer concern for you and try to remember too.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Maria, I’m not sure I know how to correctly respond to your question, but it could be simply that until a person actively seeks the Lord and His Truth, they are open to any and all deception the enemy may bring to them. In this case, Catholicism.
        This woman is not sure whether there is a God, (agnostic), but if there is, he’s a Catholic god. Confused? Yes, very, but still unwilling to seek the truth. Her ears and eyes are closed. A very frightening thing to realize when one is close to dying. (She is still in denial to that as well).

        Liked by 1 person

          • With MotherTeresa, and many like her, both RC and otherwise, the foundation is laid as children. New born Christians, too, like my charismatic self was, can so easily be led astray to a wrong foundation, i.e., another “Jesus.” When being taught the wrong way and believing it to be the truth because you are new in the faith its hard to see the right way when reading God’s Word. And false religion learned as children can be hard to reject because its like rejecting one’s parents. It makes for a very stubborn foundation to break up unless our Lord takes the hammer of His truth to it.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Sherry, loyalty can be a strong motive, especially if those who taught us wrongly showed love to us. You’re right that it is the Lord who must do the work with our hearts through His Word. As a lapsed Catholic I found myself in an evangelical Bible study. I thought that the “Church” was mine – who were they to teach me about it or the Gospel – didn’t I belong to the One True Church? The Lord used Ephesians and Psalm 119 to begin a process that took time and the tenderness that came from a physical and emotional crisis in my life to bring me to my knees and tell the Lord that I gave up and had made a mess of things – could He fix it? He fixed it immediately, which doesn’t always happen so instantly. Then I went on in my baby ways stumbling but standing and walking.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Sorry to have missed this comment! I’m so glad He answered your prayer that came from a humble and contrite spirit! Now I know why we are as true sisters in Christ! From this point in your testimony, “and the tenderness that came from a physical and emotional crisis in my life to bring me to my knees and tell the Lord that I gave up and had made a mess of things – could He fix it? He fixed it immediately, which doesn’t always happen so instantly. Then I went on in my baby ways stumbling but standing and walking.”…is my very same testimony! Only the Lord did it through the Hour of Power and made sure all of the other cable stations were nothing but snowy! And it was instantly, as if concrete blocks had been taken off of my shoulders and I “saw” everything with new eyes. But when I tried to buy the message given by the pastor I couldn’t find it! I kept buying the sermons from the Crystal Cathedral because I wanted a record of that message but could not find it. I went off on a wrong foundation but, praise God! He heard my prayer to reveal all of the lies I was believing as truth- and wow! did He ever! \o/

                I loved hearing your testimony of the goodness of our God! Amen! Have a blessed day, Maria! \o/

                Liked by 1 person

  3. So sad to ponder the large number of people that have been denied the TRUTH because she listened to the one that is capable of disguising himself as light…and sadly how about the number of protestants that do not PROTEST against her deception but join hands with catholic-“ISM” and “skip merrily through the weeds” hand in hand with satan… S-A-D. I find this so very, very sad.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Hi Maria, Yes, I think posts like this one are very much needed, given the condition of evangelicalism these days. Most of today’s mega-church evangelicals would completely dismiss this post as 19th-century sectarianism but they are the ones who are blinded.

        Liked by 2 people

          • Yes, Maria. There are many evangelicals – more than a few here at WordPress – who believe it is better to “catch bees with honey rather than vinegar” – smother Catholics with kindness and slip the Gospel in now and then. But if Catholics think they’re on the “same page” with evangelicals, except for some “minor” differences in doctrinal wording, there’s no incentive to change. Plus, accommodation and cooperation works both ways and before you know it, the “honey” guys are accepting faithful Catholics as Christians rather than trying to evangelize them. I ran across a very popular evangelical WP blog several months ago with a post about an atheist who eventually became a Catholic. All the evangelicals were high-fiving each other in the comments section, but I chimed in that the poor soul was no better off than his previous state. Needless to say, my thoughts weren’t warmly received.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Maria!

    First let me say that your question over at my place regarding the relationship between what I posted there and what you have here was extraordinarily perceptive. I never would have made that connection. I appreciate the detail with which you read!
    Well, of course I agree with the premise of what you state here. We are like minds in one very important thing:
    Grace + nothing=salvation.
    God does it, and needs nor requires no assistance from us. If we hold on to any ideas that we some how work our way into God’s good favor in order to merit His heaven, we are deluded about our odds of getting there. Sadly, that is just the teaching of not only the Catholic Church, but other even “evangelical” churches.
    Does that mean all in these churches are lost? Well, of course not, and unless we talk to people we can’t even come close to knowing what is in their hearts. Even then we cannot always know.
    Does the true message of the Gospel need to be presented to these folks? It sure does; I take the chance to present it any time I can to even the people I serve and fellowship with, and I pray they will always do the same for me.

    Is this a touchy subject? Yes, for millions it is. These millions will instantly brand you a hater for having said this. I would disagree, as I think you share this with love in your heart. Of course we all know that some evangelicals do speak with hate in their hearts when dealing with things like this.

    Is this particular ministry for every one? Well, no as you will never likely see me post anything like this. I remain ready to present the truth to any who ask me for it, however. Is it a needed ministry? I sure would say so, and appreciate those who perform it.

    Much love you you my sister

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wally, thank you, brother! Especially for the needed reminder that it is a human – not only a Catholic – thing to want to impress the Lord or feel like we must do this to earn in part at least His favor. It is so human.

      She was a very sad creature and I wish she had known the Lord because of this sense of her utter aloneness. She rebelled against the Word of God by wanting to hear directly from Him. She heard the voice of a stranger and followed and then lost all sense of Jesus’ presence except in the Eucharist, which is a lie. As Elizabeth said below – it is sad, so sad! Because even a child can know the Lord, repent, believe, receive, and have everlasting life and find joy. Even a child like at your camp.

      Thank you again – I will try to do what you do and preach the Word in season and out of season. Lord bless you for adding to a discussion that, though sad, has been edifying.

      Liked by 2 people

Please share your thoughts!

