Lord’s day joy – The Sheep and Their Shepherd


.

John 10:27

NKJV

27 My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

“That I am like a sheep is a sorry reflection; but that I have a shepherd charms away the sorrow and creates a new joy. It even becomes a gladsome thing to be weak, that I may rely on his strength; to be full of wants, that I may draw from his fullness; to be shallow and often at my wit’s end, that I may be always regulated by his wisdom. Even so doth my shame redound to his praise. Not to you, ye great and mighty, who lift your heads high, and claim for yourselves honor: not for you is peace, not to you is rest; but unto you, ye lowly ones, who delight in the valley of humiliation, and feel yourselves to be taken down in your own esteem—to you it is that the Shepherd becomes dear; and to you will he give to lie down in green pastures beside the still waters.”

C.H. Spurgeon

“The Sheep and Their Shepherd”

Sermon #995

.

.

“‘Tis done!

the great transaction’s done:

I am my Lord’s, and he is mine:

He drew me, and I follow’d on,

Charm’d to confess the voice divine.

Now rest, my long-divided heart;

Fix’d on this blissful center, rest:

With ashes who would grudge to part,

When call’d on angels’ bread to feast?

High heaven, that heard the solemn vow,

That vow renew’d shall daily hear:

Till in life’s latest hour I bow,

And bless in death a bond so dear.”

.

4 thoughts on “Lord’s day joy – The Sheep and Their Shepherd

Please share your thoughts!

