Keeping informed – First feature-length virtual reality film – the life of Jesus


.

VR_Jesus_Denis Simonov_shutterstock_361835879

.

Jesus is real; now, in new film, he will be virtually real

.

Aleteia.org:

The Times [New York Times] notes several similarities between the new VR film and Mel Gibson’s 2004 blockbuster The Passion of the Christ: Father William J. Fulco served as an adviser for both films. And both flicks were filmed in Matera, Italy…

The concept of VR films, as explained by various media outlets, sounds strikingly similar to the ancient and venerable Ignatian practice of placing oneself in a biblical scene while meditating on Scripture. Will the new technology rise to that level? We’ll have to see.

.

23 thoughts on “Keeping informed – First feature-length virtual reality film – the life of Jesus

  1. I have heard the thought being said that “they” will be able to show a virtual Jesus (do not know if I should capitalize that or not :( ) in the east. WE MUST STAY IN GOD’S WORD SO WE DO NOT GET FOOLED. It is not enough for most-even professing believer’s- to worship the Lord our God in spirit and truth..
    AS ALWAYS, it is TRUE what God’s written Word-inspired by the holy spirit says in 2 Timothy 3:
    2 Timothy 3:7
    7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

    PRAISES TO THE LORD FOR HAVING YOU SHARE THIS, Sister!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth, thank you for commenting! Yes, we must stay in God’s Word so we don’t get fooled. Some lies are attractive and we have to remain alert and prayerful.
    The verse from Timothy is relevant – we must never go beyond what is written, wandering past the truth instead of staying with it and being grounded in it, making things up because it feels good and then worshipping our inventions.
    God bless you, Sister!

    Like

  3. Amen, Maria! When I feel like I might be “stepping out of bounds” and things look a little confusing I always go back and tell God I am sorry for being a bit confused on things! I tell Him I know He is Lord and I KNOW that He has made the PERFECT salvation plan for us by the SACRIFICING OF THE SPOTLESS LAMB JESUS! If I don’t understand all things Biblical I ALWAYS KNOW HIM! HE is all we need to know!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pastor Jim, yes, the content! The fact that the New York Times mentioned Ignatian spirituality amazed me – there it was right upfront, plain for all to see. F. Tupper Saussey, in his book Rulers of Evil, sees the Society of Jesus as heavily invested in the film industry.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I went to the link you have shared, Maria, and you have more comments here than that article got (I only saw one comment if I was in the right place). I would be interested to know how popular this virtual “reality” will become. I guess if I’m around long enough I’ll find out.
    It sounds like another way to escape the real world if only for a short time. As you know, so many methods are already being used to accomplish this and many of them are deemed “religious.” Contemplative prayer in our time seems to be replacing, to some degree, unfettered drug usage of the 1960s as a way to have an experience with God. Neither are new and I don’t expect that either will go away anytime soon, depending on God’s schedule.
    There are more distractions now than ever before. All it takes is one television to take us into an unreal world of no responsibilities and no consequences for godless actions. The same devise can be used for good, but it has become a distraction that continues to lower the bar when it comes to depicting Godly standards. It is the same with many forms of entertainment these days as you well know. It is so obvious to me how many T.V. shows of our day attempt to draw you in with “semi-clean” episodes up front. As the clever plots continue, the moral convictions of the characters make drastic turns for the worse. I am drawn to creativity, but something can be most creative and be in direct contradiction with God’s Word. I am thankful that God has made me sensitive to such contradictions. Now if only “I” could get completely out of the way so that perfect decisions would be made. The truth, of course, is that this cannot happen this side of heaven as I am no different than all others, a creature with a sinful nature. Maybe I can be a vessel of sorts to help one person. God does work in mysterious ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sherry, you understand premillennial dispensationalism – I know you study this thoroughly. A question: What did this verse mean for the church in Philadelphia, for it must apply first to them and have a literal fulfillment:

    Revelation 3:10 Since you have kept my command to endure patiently, I will also keep you from the hour of trial that is going to come on the whole world to test the inhabitants of the earth.

    Got to tell you something you’ll be glad about. Everybody listen up! Clarence at nightlightblog is blogging on Revelation:

    https://nightlightblogdotcom.wordpress.com/2016/07/11/revelation-the-futuredirectors-cut/

    Like

  7. Good morning, Elizabeth! I believe it is those who would rather not walk by faith.

    I Peter 1:8 Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy,

    Like

  8. Good morning to you too, Sweet Sister!
    Amen! We do not even know what He looks like! So “virtually” who is that “Jesus”?
    I am so HAPPY and so VERY thankful to The Lord for allowing me the TRUTH! Need to stay WITH HIM!
    People are being beguiled…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It is beguiling – good choice of words! There is a book entitled “The Beautiful Side of Evil.” Think too of all the incredible but deceptive works of art, for instance at the Vatican but everywhere. Recently I saw an image of “Jesus” holding the U.S. Constitution.

    You’re right – we don’t know what He looked like. What a mess of confusion when we walk our own way, little sister! I too am grateful that the Lord delivered me from deception. Praise Him!

    Like

  10. Hi, my brother Chris! You’ve made several good points, including this – had not considered it: “Contemplative prayer in our time seems to be replacing, to some degree, unfettered drug usage of the 1960s as a way to have an experience with God.” True!

    Hey! About the Lord using you, remember that He said in 2 Corinthians 12:9,

    And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

    Not sin of course but human weaknesses.

    About distractions – there are so many “desires for other things.”

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts

