Who is This Man of Sin, the Son of Perdition?


These things must be made known and acknowledged once again.

The X Mass H8rs Blog

From this site, European Institutes of Protestant Studies:

Notes of John Wesley on the New Testament II Thessalonians 2:3:-

“However, in many respects, the Pope has an indisputable claim to those titles. He is, in an emphatical sense, the man of sin, as he increases all manner of sin above measure. And he is, too, properly styled, the son of perdition, as he has caused the death of numberless multitudes, both of his opposers and followers, destroyed innumerable souls, and will himself perish everlastingly. He it is that opposeth himself to the emperor, once his rightful sovereign; and that exalteth himself above all that is called God, or that is worshipped. Commanding angels and putting kings under his feet, both of whom are called gods in scripture; claiming the highest power, the highest honour; suffering himself, not once only, to be styled God or vice-God. Indeed no less is implied…

View original post 110 more words

20 thoughts on “Who is This Man of Sin, the Son of Perdition?

  1. Thanks for the reblog, Maria. Its amazing to read this dissertation by Dr. Ian Paisley. Today, theologians want to erase the truth that the Pope has always been the Anti-Christ and his system of religion that of the false light. And, I can see why Paul warned the young Church with tears. I want to cry just thinking of all those I know who are Roman Catholics and in seeing this day’s ecumenical movement making such rapid progress.

    \o/ Come quickly, Lord Jesus, amen!~

    Liked by 2 people

      • LOL! My “journey of tears” began when I was looking for Joyce Meyer’s website and, finally, decided to bite and read the criticisms of her. That led to a website that explained why we should not celebrate X Mass…I hate it when I find out I’ve been deceived. And I don’t like seeing others deceived, either. After reading this dissertation, I despise X Mass all the more! As Eliza said, its a gateway to the ecumenical one world religion.

        Have a blessed Lord’s day!

        Maranatha! \o/

        Liked by 1 person

        • Sherry, it’s interesting how the Lord led us to the same freedom and especially to an understanding of His holiness, teaching each (and all) of us in the way we needed. My starting point was learning that Christmas is essentially Catholic. Christmasisalie YouTube channel opened my eyes to this and to the pagan roots. My Christmas blues were explained. Praise God!
          Thank you for commenting! I appreciate it a lot.

          Like

  2. To pinpoint who “The” Antichrist is would be a little bit premature since the Bible is clear He is yet to be revealed. We can have our speculation of who fits the bill but truly only time will tell.

    The Antichrist will go against the Catholic church and destroy it, unless the one sitting there is not really even what he poses to be.

    Like

    • Caeli, forgive me for not being prompt in replying but I wasn’t sure how to respond so as to be helpful to you. I know that you will continue to study this topic, as it is important to you (and that is wisdom!), and I hope that you will study both God’s Word and prophecy fulfilled in history. How others have understood the passages pertaining to the man of sin can help us so much – we need sound teachers. Getting a thorough grasp of Revelation 17 and comparing (harmonizing) the Olivet discourse in the three synoptic Gospels helps too. For example, Luke 21 helps with better understanding the timeline in Matthew 24. God bless you and lead you! We can talk again – I too continue to study this matter and the chronology of the end of the age.

      Like

      • I agree that people need to read the Word of God and rely on the Holy Spirit to lead instead of relying too much on commentary and Theology from Reformers whose actions do not line up with Jesus’ teachings. I see that as quite problematic. If they miss and can justify something as simple as “Do not murder” who knows what else they can possibly get wrong? Remembering Jesus’ own words, I will not trust being guided by a person whom Jesus says does not know Him (John 16:2-3). It is not being judgmental but as I follow Christ, I dwell on what Christ says, as should every believer. Most people fall into the trap of relying on these men to understand Scripture rather than the Holy Spirit’s leading. As long as one truly had a genuine conversion, it is a guarantee that the Holy Spirit will lead the believer into truth, as long as the believer continues to abide in Christ. Sometimes, the adopted presuppositions/theology from a Reformer can stifle the work of the Holy Spirit.

        Like

          • John Calvin. People tout this Reformer, but if that man had the Holy Spirit, as do believers now. People have to read the Bible. Read Jesus’ words. Directing people to a man who didn’t exemplify the Love of Christ amid his efforts in the “Defense” of Christianity is a grave mistake because the basis of our Theology should be Christ alone, not some man’s borrowed understanding from Augustine. People have the tendency to make idols of people without realizing it. I don’t mean to sound disrespectful to anyone and I am sorry if I appear that way.

            Like

          • Maria, this post has nothing to do with Calvin at all but my first statement was being broad about people relying too much on commentaries. I don’t see anything wrong with people being curious if they’re coming up with the right theology but we have to make sure the person is without reproach. Also nothing wrong with people quoting once in a while but when people quote the same Theologian habitually, something doesn’t add up.

            Like

  3. REVISED COMMENT IN REPLY TO MODCONSPIRACY (I deleted my testimony):

    We cannot idolize them – it is wrong.

    1 Cor. 1
    10 Now I plead with you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment. 11 For it has been declared to me concerning you, my brethren, by those of Chloe’s household, that there are contentions among you. 12 Now I say this, that each of you says, “I am of Paul,” or “I am of Apollos,” or “I am of Cephas,” or “I am of Christ.” 13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul?
    14 I thank God that I baptized none of you except Crispus and Gaius, 15 lest anyone should say that I had baptized in my own name. 16 Yes, I also baptized the household of Stephanas. Besides, I do not know whether I baptized any other. 17 For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect.

    But we can seek to understand them and respect them if we can. Calvin’s life, for example. He prosecuted a case against a Socianian (unitarian who didn’t believe Jesus Christ was God in the flesh). Knowing that the city of Geneva would prosecute this heretic (Michael Servetus) if he came to Geneva, Calvin wrote to him and warned him not to come to the city. Servetus came to the city, was condemned to death, and Calvin did two things:

    pleaded for hanging instead of burning as more humane
    visited and continued to try and lead Servetus to Jesus until the very last.

    It’s difficult to imagine these times but it’s best to learn what we can and respect the decisions people were forced to make.

    ModConspiracy, I’ve removed my testimony that I gave here and you saw. Someday I hope to lay it out carefully, how the Lord dealt with me in bringing me to repentance and faith in Jesus!

    Like

Please share your thoughts!

