Last words – John Bunyan


 .

The Holy War (Web Front)

Spurgeon’s recommendation

.

He died away from home after suffering about ten days, as the result of traveling in bad weather to settle a dispute between a dying father and his son.

“Weep not for me, but for yourselves. I go to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who will, no doubt, through the mediation of his blessed Son, receive me, though a sinner; where I hope we ere long shall meet, to sing the new song, and remain everlastingly happy, world without end. Amen…

“Take me, for I come to thee.”

John Bunyan

August 31, 1688

Source: The Death Of John Bunyan by George Offor

Source at WordPress: The Last Words of John Bunyan – August 31, 1688

.

10 thoughts on “Last words – John Bunyan

  1. Thank you for the information and the links, Maria.
    From my knowledge of Mr. Bunyan’s life, his resembled that of “Christian” in his most popular book.
    The reason his book has been so popular is that it is the story of Christian struggle and the grace and power of a wonderful God in the midst of that struggle. John Bunyan lived the words that Jesus spoke to his disciples in the 16th chapter of John:
    33 “These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Chris! Yes, Bunyan probably included many of his own trials in Pilgrim’s Progress, and portraits of the kind of Christians and nominal Christians he observed. It’s a wonderful but somewhat frightening story. I’d like to read The Holy War. Around the Wicket Gate is a solid nonfiction book in which he persuades unbelievers who are hesitating to believe and hanging around “the Wicket Gate.” Good to have you comment!

      Like

      • He probably did, Maria. I haven’t read “The Holy War” by Bunyan, but I probably will get to Mr. Spurgeon’s “Around the Wicket Gate” one of these days. “Solid nonfiction?” It doesn’t appear to be that to me at all.
        Nice to comment!

        Liked by 1 person

          • Then it is meat, indeed, I would think, Maria.
            You also mentioned Mr. Spurgeon’s “Around the Wicket Gate.” and I’m glad you did.. I may have heard of it in the past but I don’t recall it. I have read some today, it is fiction for the most part and has some awesome words worth quoting in it. It is also pretty short and easier reading than many of his sermons. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts!

