Time, death, and life everlasting


.

I wrote and posted this awhile ago. It still pleases me as a way of expressing my faith and the pain of this temporary world. MT

Sometimes, I hear a train in the distance at night. The sound is painful. Longing for the past – nostalgia – brings a similar feeling of pain. But I remember that,

.

The past is dead –

all its pleasures dead and gone,

destroyed by time, at Your decree.

My sins are gone – all forgiven! –  

without any power over me.

So I am free.

.

I remember Your judgments –

Your deeds in time sustain me.

Fresh are David’s pardon,

Samson’s sanctification,

the garments Your servant Dorcas made.

Forever fresh are 

Your sorrows,

Your cross,

Your glory.

 

Your love, Lord Jesus, lives forever –

real, true, and blessed,

it is eternal!

.

1 John 2:17 

And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

.

.

9 thoughts on “Time, death, and life everlasting

  1. I came here to comment because I did not see a way to comment on your newest re-post.
    Our empty joys or joyous vanities might bring pleasure for a time–things like playing a baseball game, walking on the beach, watching a movie, maybe even playing chess. Those things may bring joy at the time, but what does one have in his hand when he is finished? The biggest question of all is, can anyone say the empty joys were for the Lord and His work? What treasure was stored up in heaven? Check out Hebrews 6:1-3. In verse one, most understatnd the phrase “repentance from dead works” to be repentance from works of the Old Testament Law, but ask the question: what are living works. If living works are done for God, then by contrast, dead works are anything not done for God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Beth, while I’m COMPLETELY convinced that many of us – myself especially – waste time, I do believe that we can enjoy A LITTLE innocent fun.

      Also, here is the text of Hebrews 6:1-3, and in context it is clearly speaking about the “foundation”, that is, “repentance from dead works and faith toward God”:

      6 Therefore, leaving the discussion of the elementary principles of Christ, let us go on to perfection, not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God, 2 of the doctrine of baptisms, of laying on of hands, of resurrection of the dead, and of eternal judgment. 3 And this we will do if God permits.

      God has given us all things richly to enjoy but He clearly commands us not to waste time when we ought to be working for His will to be done.

      Thank you for giving your insight and experience – it’s invaluable to me personally!

      Like

Please share your thoughts!

