The wonderful story of Mr. Feeble-mind and its remarkable Providences


There are several weak or fearful characters in part 2 of The Pilgrim’s Progress. This is so encouraging – not many of us are a Mr. Great-heart. The author, John Bunyan, was a student of God’s Word and human nature, and he filled his story with comfort for us weak ones.

1 Corinthians 1:22-31

22 For the Jews require a sign, and the Greeks seek after wisdom: 23 but we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness; 24 but unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God. 25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men. 26 For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: 27 but God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; 28 and base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: 29 that no flesh should glory in his presence. 30 But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption: 31 that, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.

A palace beautiful - a resting place on the narrow way

.

Great-heart rescues Mr. Feeble-mind from Giant Slay-good by William Bell Scott, from The Victorian Web ~ literature, history, & culture in the age of Victoria

.

“For I am ready to halt, and my sorrow is continually before me.”  Psalms 38:17

.

. . . Then they asked Mr. FEEBLE-MIND how he fell into his [the Giant Slay-good’ s] hands.

Feeble-mind. Then said the poor man, “I am a sickly man, as you see; and because death did usually, once a day, knock at my door, I thought I should never be well at home. So I betook myself to a pilgrim’ s life; and have travelled hither from the town of Uncertain, where I and my father were born. I am a man of no strength at all, of body, nor yet of mind; but would, if I could, though I can but crawl, spend my life in the pilgrims’ way. When I came at the gate that is at the head of the way, the Lord of that place did…

View original post 1,509 more words

Please share your thoughts!

