The encouraging story of Mr. Fearing


This story helped me to understand my own struggle with fear and assurance. I hope it blesses you and that you enjoy it. It is a reblog from my other blog that is devoted to encouragement and joy.

A palace beautiful - a resting place on the narrow way

Interpreter Called For a Manservant of His The Pilgrim's Progress Macgregor Pub Jack 1907

from Wikisource

(emphasis added)

Now, as they walked along together, the guide [Great-heart] asked the old gentleman [Honest] if he did not know one Mr. Fearing, that came on pilgrimage out of his parts.

Honest. Yes, very well, said he. He was a man that had the root of the matter in him; but he was one of the most troublesome pilgrims that ever I met with in all my days.

Great-heart. I perceive you knew him, for you have given a very right character of him.

Honest. Knew him! I was a great companion of his; I was with him most an end; when he first began to think upon what would come upon us hereafter, I was with him.

Great-heart. I was his guide from my Master’s house to the gates of the Celestial City.

Honest. Then you knew him to be a troublesome one.

Great-heart. I…

View original post 2,321 more words

2 thoughts on “The encouraging story of Mr. Fearing

  1. Fear is from the enemy and takes so many disguises. It is the opposite of faith. Thank you for your blogs and encouragement. ajc P.S. Let us walk in faith (trust) and not fear.

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts!

