envy


.

John Constable Golding-Constable's-Flower-Garden

.

Today I looked at someone’s beautiful home

and felt, and indulged in, envy.

After all these years of walking with Him –

Who made Himself poor for our sakes – 

do I really want someone else’s good,

which He gave to them as their very own?

(Their difficulties are also all their own –

do I want those too?)

Would I exchange the love He’s shown to me

for the love He’s shown to them?

That would be unloving –

disloyal, unfaithful…

Lord, forgive me!

 John Constable A-Cottage-in-a-Cornfield,-1817.

Exodus 20:17 

Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

Jeremiah 31:3

The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying,
Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love:
therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.

11 thoughts on “envy

Please share your thoughts!

