For Christians who don’t celebrate Christmas – some things to consider (revised)


.

J. M. Chełmoński Partridges in the snow Public Domain via Wikimedia

Reality

The assumption that Christmas is a Christian holiday is nearly universal.

It is an institution, an extraordinary cultural phenomenon, and it is promoted by both believers and those who don’t believe.

Rightly or wrongly, it is also seen as a time when people are more open to the Gospel, so that it has the vote of those whose chief desire is to reach the lost for Jesus Christ.

In other words, Christmas is HUGE, and while we need to warn other Christians about its origins and practices, we need to realize that nothing is going to change unless it is God’s good pleasure. 

.

Some thoughts and a little advice

Unless people are pressuring you to participate, you can pay almost no attention to it except at certain times.  

If you don’t celebrate for reasons of conscience, your conscience will be at peace, and this is a good and happy thing when you’re innocent of any particular wrongdoing. 

Remember that the Lord commanded Israel not to adopt the customs of the nations, that their disobedience was meant to teach us, and that your stance is Biblical.

Jeremiah 10:1-2a

Hear ye the word which the Lord speaketh unto you, O house of Israel: thus saith the Lord,

Learn not the way of the heathen,

1 Corinthians 10:11

Now all these things happened unto them for ensamples: and they are written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the world are come.

If you watch TV, and enjoy the Hallmark Channel, avoid it for now. Their Christmas movies are appealing, even when they include one of the biggest lies – Santa. Also, Hallmark has been a part of Christmas for decades, and they have a financial reason for promoting this day.

1 Timothy 6:10

For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. 

You may still suffer depression, no matter how hard you try to control your thought life and feelings. People are fragile and have little say in what goes on in the larger world around us. So stay in prayer and God’s Word. 

When you see Christmas lights still up in February, don’t complain about the people who do this. Pray that the Lord will grant them repentance and faith in Jesus Christ, Who is the Light of the world (John 8:12).

To say that in some way Jesus is coming to us again this December, as if for the very first time, is unreal and untrue, and reflects pagan thinking that has to do with the notion that time is cyclical. The Lord can’t come for the first time every December, anymore than He can die on the cross every spring or in each “sacrifice of the Mass.” Jesus will return to us one day, maybe very soon, and this is our hope which is grounded in reality. Truth has nothing to do with cycles that are pointless and neverending. It runs in a straight line, moving forward purposefully in time toward the goal of the Lord’s return and His actual physical presence with us forever. So take heart, and declare with Job, 

For I know that my redeemer liveth,
and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth:

Job 19:25

.

17 thoughts on “For Christians who don’t celebrate Christmas – some things to consider (revised)

  1. Christmas is only a word. It is the spirit and meaning of the word that is important. “For God so loved the world, that He GAVE US HIS SON, miraculously born to a woman! The origin of Christmas is Christ’s birth, no matter what “the world” tries to twist it into. Yes, Maria, God won’t long let it be otherwise. We have to be in agreement with God’s will according to scripture. “Christbirth” isn’t the only thing “the world” tries to corrupt. Think about “the church”. To Jesus, His church is like His bride – all believers as one, a holy entity. It has become denominational and not as one. It is our responsibility to keep the truth safe no matter what “the world” tries to do to it. Stay strong, people. God bless you.
    Len at Gloryteller.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Len – I appreciate your taking the time to leave a comment. I don’t think “Christmas” is simply a word but that it has an important meaning which has to do with its origin in the “Christ Mass”. Also, December 25th is the so-called “birthday” of several pagan deities. Have you studied the origin of Christmas? I visited your website and read a post about your book (and also your letter to your brother(s)). I commend you for your zeal for the Lord and affirm you in your love of writing, and using your gift for the Lord, but I hope you will pray about your affirmation of Christmas as Christian.
      Thank you for following my blog – I hope you will find some things here to encourage you!
      Maria

      Liked by 3 people

      • Yes, I too am a senior citizen and I have studied the origin of the word and the secular celebration called”Christmas”. I probably know as much about it as you. 🙂 I prefer to call the Christian celebration of Jesus’ birth “Christbirth”, which include His title, or, better yet, “Jesusbirth” which uses His name. “JesusChristbirth” is even better, but a bit cumbersome. “The Nativity” describes it best to me, but I’m getting too caught up in words when it’s the actual event that I’m concerned with. I just want to celebrate His birth! Emmanuel, God with us! It is one of the two most important events in human history. I realize, of course that 12-25 is NOT the exact date of His birth. I choose to celebrate His birth, and life, every day of the year, but on 12-25 I get to celebrate it with believers and non- believers, people who believe the same as I and the opposite as I. Even if they don’t know the real reason they are celebrating, one day God may show them, just as they showed us! So, let us not throw the baby out with the bathwater. Keep the baby, and the man, and the Lord close and dear and don’t let an obsession about the pagans claim your attention, but keep your eyes fastened on Him. Please excuse what sounds condescending of me. I don’t intend that and I don’t begin to suppose I know the whole complex nature of your thoughts on this matter. I have read your stuff and I agree with most, and I know we are brother and sister. I just wanted to let you know that you made me think hard about what I believe and I thank you for that. Whatever we do , we must remain faithful to scripture and keep on proclaiming Jesus, our Lord, together. Blessings,
        Len

        Liked by 3 people

        • Hi, Gloryteller, a fellow senior citizen,
          I believe this isn’t the place to debate this. The post is meant for Christians who have decided not to keep this day. It was meant to help them think about the issues and get through Christmas in a way that glorifies the Lord.
          Since you’ve studied this as I have, you too are responsible for what you know. We can’t believe that the Lord gives us knowledge simply for its own sake but to edify us and anyone we influence. That’s what I’m trying to do.
          In Him,
          Maria

          Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m sorry if I sounded contentious or argumentative. I was only presenting my perspective and wouldn’t want to undermine what you are doing for your followers. I don’t often get a chance to have a discussion with a fellow thinker, and,
    above, it does say “please share your thoughts”. 🙂
    God bless,
    Len

    Liked by 3 people

    • Scarlett, may you be blessed too! And go on to fulfill His Word to His children:
      Ephesians 2
      10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.
      It was a joy to find your comment,
      Maria

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I observe Christmas (with reservation) for my family’s sake, not because I want to join with the rest of the world in this manmade celebration. Unfortunately, Christmas is a very ecumenical holiday and is a means of leading people to embrace a one world religion. You can be sure that a watered down version of Christianity will be subsumed by the one world religion and those who hold to biblical faith will be its enemies. I really don’t want to be a part of all of that.
    I see this celebration as an opportunity to be with my family and bless them, but I have no fervor for the holiday that I used to have. I have too much knowledge about its origins and seeing its purpose for that. My focus is on Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior, Him crucified, risen and coming again. I want to know Him, love Him, and serve Him until He comes, or I go to be with Him. All the hoopla surrounding this manmade tradition doesn’t really serve to glorify Him or edify His saints. God bless you:)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Eliza! This year for the first time in many years we were invited by the family to join in celebrating. It’s strange because we have been left out for so long, and now that we’ve learned what all of these things of Christmas mean, suddenly our family has made this invitation – actually asking to come to our place. This is all right with us because it is for them, like you said, to serve them. I believe that you’re right that there is something about Christmas that draws everybody into it, so that it can be a place where people unite in celebration – and yes, that is not what I want to do but to live holy. Soon it will be over – time is like that. Yes, I simply want to know and love Jesus Christ and follow Him, after being so far from Him for so long – the real Jesus of the Bible not the manmade idol or image. This is not about feelings but faith. Thank you for staying true to Him and providing an example for your brothers and sisters. I don’t say this to puff you up but so that you know that your simplicity of faith is helping people to seek Him and to understand what it means to have a heart united to fear Him – and love Him. It’s a pure faith. So grateful for your love for Jesus, Eliza!
      Maria

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you dear sister for your love and encouragement! It is all only because of God our Father and our Lord Jesus Christ that we can stay true to Him. He leads, guides, and delivers us, by His Holy Spirit, as you well know. Praise God for His Word that teaches, exhorts, rebukes, and equips us to know, love and obey Him. God bless you dear sister, and praise God for any encouragement that He delivers through us to one another. Thank you Jesus Christ for Your glorious love!

    Liked by 2 people

Please share your thoughts!

